Sunday, December 28, 2008

boo virginia!!!

whew! knoxville at last!

we got up around 830 and started in on packing up the house. quite a big job - would have liked more time to get it all done, but we did it! kate is the queen of stuffing a prius! we certainly look like the beverly hillbillies - the car is completely packed!

we got on the road around 1230, and hit I-81 around 1:30. We did a few pit stops, but didn't actually reach I-40 until around 10:20pm!!! we have both decided that we are NOT a fan of boring virginia!!! Almost had a run in with a virginia state trooper. the speed limit was 65, i had cruise control set on 70. all of a sudden, i saw a completely darked out cop car put on his lights! fortunately he was gunning for someone else. but i knocked the speed down to 66 - sure enough a few miles down the road the trooper passed me on the left. whew - i know how those virginia troopers LOVE snagging maryland drivers!!!

the rest of the trip was pretty uneventful - just long! we pulled in to our hotel around 11pm, ate our subway dinner and we are now about to hit the sack. i guess the full impact of the day is finally hitting me - it was quite a lot to get done. i still don't think it is real for me that i won't be returning to baltimore at the end of this trip.

oh - and bonus - gotta love some tennessee cable access! we are watching a special on how to make stack cakes! according to the narrator, it takes about as long to make as it does for christmas to get here! apparently, its a bit of an endurance test... wha?

alex has offered to drive a bit tomorrow - i think we are both tired enough to take him up on it!

4 comments:

Dr. Andy said...

Oh, Tracey! Can't wait for you to get out here. Be prepared, though: You do remember we haven't lived near family in, like, 12 years, right? We may be the pests you've always worried about!! Your sweet loving cousin, Andy

Mom S said...

Hey, Tracer! Thanks for the blog link. Glad you are on the way and making your own history! The weather map looks good going across country (I AM a Crabill you know!) Say hi to Alex!

KotaBaby said...

Hey lady! Miss you so much already :( Hope you are enjoying your road trip. Be careful!! I'm "following" you on your blog!! :)

Zeppanda76 said...

i am surprised jeff robey is even speaking to you after you so harshly dissed his sweet, sweet virgina.

how's my pup holding up?